Moonlit Memory (Jack and a Girl)

When I say that I love her
Believe me that it is true
But I can’t help seeing your eyes
When I try and not think of you
I have never thought I would
See you still in my mind
Where your presence’s still so strong
How can I leave you behind

You shimmer like the stars
You always seem just as far
Light years seem to have gone
Since you did what you’ve done
To my heart and blew my mind
I thought it would heal in time
But still I only think of you
And how you looked under that moon

When I wake in her arms
Sometimes I hope that she’s you
Sorrow when I feel that way
And grateful that she has no clue
My dreams are filled with your smile
While its her I should desire
I wonder now where you are
And whether you recall our fire

You light up like the sun
Maybe you are still the one
I remember in a daze
Eyes setting my mind ablaze
How they gleamed into the night
How you made me feel so high
Now I do still think of you
And how you looked under that moon

*

( part of the Jack and a Girl Anthology)

Leave a Reply

