River Song (Jack and a Girl)

You took me by the hand
We smiled and then walked on
I loved being beside you
As the river sang her song

I wondered at the wisdom
Should we not have talked
‘This is such a bad idea’
I muttered as we walked

‘Bad ideas are the best ones’
You grinned as we went
I smiled without replying
And knew exactly what you meant

God knows we were lost
When twilight brought a kiss
Like none we had ever known
We were helpless to resist

We had laid our claims
Even if I could not see
That from that day forever
You would be a part of me

*

( part of the Jack and a Girl Anthology)

Leave a Reply

