The Void

The emptiness fluctuates
Between non-existent and overpowering
Sometimes I forgot I had it
Or it is suddenly towering
Over a soul that feels so small
As if it shrank in the rain
Then it takes time to grow again
Taller than before it came

The feeling I know so well
That has become an estranged friend
Has sometimes felt so familiar
That I have missed it when it went
There is self indulgence in crying
To let out the heart wrenching pain
To only think of my own heart
Until I can feel empathy again

The void of the lonely
Who are not truly alone
Who have no reason for sadness
But tumble into that zone
For no reason apparent
It just happens overnight
And so it will dissolve
With the changing of the light

Leave a Reply

