20 Years Ago: Blur vs Oasis

Has it really been twenty years since the infamous chart battle between Britpop’s figureheads?

I have been trying to think back to what my thoughts were at the time. I marginally was in Oasis’ court, but I was quite keen on Blur as well. Loved some of the stuff they had done before.

‘Country House’… well… it’s an amusing song, but hardly their finest hour, and neither was ‘Roll With It’ a cracker of a single. From what I have been able to figure out someone’s management (was it Blur’s?) moved the release date to coincide with the other’s and it was a stroke of genius. Both bands did amazingly well out of it and the amount of press the chart battle got was unprecedented.

Now, looking back? It was all a bit silly. Two decent bands slagging each other off for the hell of it. I think Blur won the battle, but Oasis won the war at the time with Morning Glory being a far superior album to The Great Escape.

I am sure that these days both bands can only laugh about it now. They (and when I say they I mean Damon Albarn and Noel Gallagher – God knows what anyone else is thinking!) seem to have a great respect for each other these days and it is all water under the bridge, though it never ceases to amaze me how heated the arguments among fans get to this day.

Anyway, any of you still arguing, here’s Blur’s Damon Albarn and Graham Coxon doing Tender for Teenage Cancer Trust with Noel Gallagher. All’s forgiven and forgotten… or is it?

Leave a Reply

